Acknowledgments

The members of the Interstate Technology & Regulatory Council (ITRC) Microplastics Team wish to acknowledge the individuals, organizations, and agencies that contributed to this Technical and Regulatory Guidance.

As part of the broader ITRC effort, the Microplastics effort is funded primarily by the U.S. Department of Energy. Additional funding and support have been provided by the U.S. Department of Defense and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

The team leaders, Valerie Hanley (California Department of Toxic Substances Control) and Kim Nimmer (North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality), along with the program advisor, Cherri Baysinger (Cymbella Consulting LLC), wish to recognize the efforts of the following individuals who took on leadership roles within the team:

Sarah Stoneking, Rambol

Todd Miller, Kennedy/Jenks Consultants

Sanjay Shah, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

Hazel Cox, Arizona Department of Environmental Quality

Kay Ho, US Environmental Protection Agency

Chris Kunz, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

Riz Sarmiento, California Department of Toxic Substances Control

Jenny Phillips, TRC

Usha Vendagiri, WSP

Alex MacDonald, Emeritus Stakeholder (Formerly California State Water Resources Control Board)

Yasemin Kunukcu, Roux Inc (Formerly TRC)

Joey Pace, Arizona Department of Environmental Quality

The team would like to thank the following individuals for sharing their time, expertise, and talent:

Scott Coffin (California State Water Resources Control Board) for time, reviews, input, and encouragement at many points along the way throughout this project.

Jonathan McDonald (Weston Solutions), who worked with Todd Miller (Kennedy/Jenks) and Nasim Pica (Weston Solutions) to create the Site Conceptual Model and Figure 2-1.

Rene Lu (Arcadis), who worked with Brent Alspach (Arcadis), Scott Underhill (Haley & Aldrich, Inc.), and Yasemin Kunukcu to develop Figures 6-4 and 6-5.

Lisa Erdle (5 Gyres) for sharing her time and expertise with the team.

Evan Madden (ITRC) for his direct support in development and publication.

Caroline Huang for support above and beyond that expected from an intern.

The team would like to acknowledge the following state team members who provided knowledge, input, time, and writing skills to prepare this document:

Dicle Yardimci, California Department of Toxic Substances Control

Daniel Harper, Indiana Department of Environmental Management

Sean Kelley, Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality

Jane de Lambert, Minnesota Department of Health

Daniel Millemann, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection

Minda Hornosky, South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control

Matthew Cox, Washington State Department of Transportation

Conchita Taitano, Guam Environmental Protection Agency

Ashley Hall, Georgia Department of Natural Resources Environmental Protection Division

Additionally, we had state and local representatives from Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Puerto Rico, and Guam who participated on the team.

The team would like to recognize the following stakeholders and academic individuals who contributed to the creation of this document:

Stakeholders:

Jeffrey Short, ITRC Public Stakeholder

Kelly Broom, Volunteer

Richard Aho, Retired

Academics:

Susanne Brander, Oregon State University

Eric Nuttall, University of New Mexico Emeritus Stakeholder

Doreen Peters, George Mason University

C.A.M. van Gestel, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands

Omoniyi Pereao, University of the Western Cape, South Africa

Katherine Lasdin, University of Washington

Patricia Hogan, Suffolk University

The team would like to thank the following local and regional utilities, special districts, and local government employees who shared their knowledge, time, and skills to prepare this document:

Violet Renick, Orange County Sanitation District

Matt Smith, Orange County Sanitation District

Danny Tang, Orange County Sanitation District

Fangmei Zhang, Miami-Dade County

Shawn Williams, Harris County Pollution Control Services

The team would like to acknowledge the following team members from the federal government who shared their knowledge, time, and writing skills to prepare this document:

Alexander Wardle, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Nizanna Bathersfield, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

James Lazorchak, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Sandra Robinson, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Mohamed Ghorab, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

The team would like to acknowledge the following team members from affiliated industry partners who shared their knowledge, time, and writing skills to prepare this document:

John W. Davis, American Chemical Council-Under Contract

Helene Baribeau, Brown and Caldwell

Darcy Metzler, Haley & Aldrich, Inc.

Deepti Nair, Battelle Memorial Institute

Roy Thun, GHD

Kristi Diller, Parsons Corporation

Alia Enright, TRC

Ellen Kaastrup, Kaastrup Consulting, LLC

Kylah Wyatt, Parsons Corporation

Brett Howard, American Chemistry Council

Jessica Gattenby, Arcadis

Rachel Zajac-Fay, Geosyntec

Dora Chiang, Wood PLC

Alex Testoff, Montrose Environmental Group

Jessica Bennett, Parsons Corporation

Chris McCarthy, Jacobs

Claudia Walecka-Hutchison, Dow, Inc.

Dusty Tazelaar, Ramboll

Tina Liu, Geosyntec Consultants

Ali Tymouri, Brown and Caldwell

Janet Anderson, GSI Environmental Inc.

Jennifer Bare, ToxStrategies, Inc.

Linda Mortensen, Arcadis

Rosalind Schoof, Ramboll US Consulting, Inc.

Kenia Whitehead, GSI Environmental Inc.

Judd Mahan, Tetra Tech, Inc.

Peggy Horst, W. L. Gore

Krista Thrasher, Geosyntec Consultants, Inc.